2008 Student Religious Symposium

In case any BYU readers are interested, I will be presenting in the 2008 Religious Education Student Symposium on Friday, Feb. 22 in 3222 WSC (the Wilk) at 2 PM. I will be presenting on my paper titled: “Putting on the Heavenly Home: An Exegesis of 2 Corithians 5:1–4.” In truth, I also talk a lot about 2 Cor. 5:6–10, but as a matter of context; there’s only so much time. The other two presenters my hour will present on such topics as, “The Polarizing Effect of Miracles” and “If Ye Keep My Commandments, Ye Shall Prosper in the Land.”

In part my paper discusses how the author of 2 Cor., whom I accept as Paul himself (as do, I think, most scholars), obviously expects an imminent parousia (second coming), which will not only be witnessed by his audience, but will also transfigure them by fitting them with a new “eternal” body, which physicality is the real Christian hope of resurrection. This statement runs counter to anti-materialism, which might contend that disembodiment is the final eternal state.

I warn you in advance that one of my faculty reviewers said that while my paper was an “exemplary” example of an exegetical exercise, “out of that setting, it has little value.” So I feel obligated to qualify my invitation by saying your time might potentially be wasted. I’ll think about posting some talking points on Friday and you can judge for yourself.

4 Responses

  1. Just what does having “little value” outside of an exegetical exercise mean for us laypeople? Will I understand what you’re talking about? I don’t speak any greek or anything, but I am interested in hearing about the context of the new testament.

    Also it seems that you forgot to mention what time this all will be happening.

  2. Woops! Silly me. It’s been fixed.

    Exegesis/exegetical is just a fancy word for analysis and interpretation. I can’t explain what my reviewer meant. I think he meant that he viewed it as more of a class-specific excercise with limited appeal outside of class.

    You’ll have to see for yourself. Even though Greek is part of my argument, most of the audience will not know Greek, so I plan to include mostly English translations and Greek only sparingly.

    Thanks for your interest. I hope you come!

  3. On “out of that setting, it has little value.”

    Do you get the sense that your reviewer was trying to limit the implications of your paper in terms of it implying that in other contexts (i.e., the early Mormon context) those in leadership roles also misunderstood the timing of the second coming?

  4. No. In the context he wrote it, he thought it was an excellent paper for a class assignment, but not fit to publish.

Leave a Reply

