The Failure of the Poll: UPDATED

So…I’m taking down the poll on whether Christians have rejected the Bible. After about a few weeks of being up, the poll has proven immensely unpopular. Or perhaps it is just this blog which is unpopular.😦

5 responses were given, and I’m only counting four of those, since one was my own. Out of 8 possible answers, only 3 choices garnered responses:

  • 2 people thought that Some Christians had rejected the Bible while others hadn’t.
  • 1 Person thought that by misinterpreting the Bible, mainstream Christians had effectively rejected it.
  • 1 Person thought that it was the Mormons, rather than Mainstream Christians, who had rejected the Bible.

I don’t think any kind of meaningful analysis can be made with just four responses. And these kinds of polls are not really statistically sound anyway. But let me just say that if I were to analyze the results, I would say that the responses generally fell along a spectrum. 1 response was to the fundamentalist Protestant extreme, and another was to the conservative Mormon extreme, both effectually condemning the other. The middle moderate ground was occupied by the majority of responses (if you include my vote).

Judging by the failure of this poll, I probably won’t be making another one. Thank you to the four who responded.

UPDATE: If you’d still like to vote, you may still do so here.

4 Responses

  1. Sorry, I was unaware of said poll. Perhaps announcing them would bring a higher rate of response? (Or maybe you did announce it, in which case I am ashamed…):

  2. Well, I did have a big post a while back on Christianity rejecting the Bible. Perhaps it was not as big as I would have liked, or maybe I didn’t emphasize enough that there was apoll associated with it. Oh well. Thanks for your sympathy.

    In other news, Meagan, I’m glad to know you read this blog!

  3. Hi
    I stumbled across your blog on LDS BLOGS. I thought you mighe be interested in a site my wife and I just built called MormonsMadeSimple.com, which uses simple, explanatory videos to explain the Mormon faith. Feel free to feature any of these videos on your blog, or just share them with non-member friends. We’re hoping these videos will be missionary tools to help members share their beliefs. Anyway, sorry to spam your comments section. I couldn’t find any contact information for you on your blog.

    – Doug & Laurel

  4. Interesting blog, Jon. I did not know about your poll, but I responded for you.

Leave a Reply

